How To Completely Erase Data To Avoid Privacy Leak On Your iPhone

The big smartphone companies keep on introducing latest models with so many modifications and new features that people are compelled to sell their old phones in order to buy new ones. If you are the person who is thinking the same and planning to sell his smartphone, what will be the first thing that comes to your mind whenever you think of selling your smartphone? This first thought is regarding privacy; how should we remove all our data so that nothing personal could go beyond our hands.

Completely Erase Data To Avoid Privacy Leak On Your iPhone

Factory restore is the best option in these cases, but are we certain that factory restore will erase all our personal data? Many people aren’t; these are the people for whom privacy is the paramount concern and they can’t even imagine the horror of their data being accessed by a third person. The ideal way to ensure your privacy before selling a smartphone is that you should not simply rely on the factory reset but you must make as much effort as you can to ensure that all the sensitive data is erased from your mobile.

General Method – Factory Reset

The general method that is used by many people to erase data on iPhone is factory data reset. It is a very simple method; all you have to do is go to the Settings menu, scroll down and there you will find “Reset” option. Once you type this button, you will get an option “Erase all content and settings”. Tap on it and the mobile will demand passcode. If you have enabled “Find my phone”, you will have to type your Apple ID and password to deactivate it.

For many people, this is the end of it; once the reset is complete, they think that they can sell their mobile to anyone without any worries whatsoever. But, if you are a privacy lover, you must be demanding more than that. In this matter, many people will demand assurance that whether the data is erased permanently or is there any way to regain and recover the deleted data.

Many things suggest that restoring your device isn’t simply sufficient to erase all the data.

Highly Effective Way to Erase Data Permanently on iPhone

When factory reset isn’t simply sufficient to erase all your personal data, there are other ways that ensure completely that all the personal data on your iPhone is erased and the one such thing is iMyfone Umate Pro. This tool is available for both Mac and windows. The best thing about this tool is that it completely overwrites the original data of your iPhone and thus deletes your data permanently. The method it uses is 3 “erase mode”. By using this method, you can be assured that all the data is deleted and nothing will be recovered even if the data recovery software is used on the mobile.

This tool offers you three levels to erase data: the first one is low, the second is medium and the third is high level. The time that the tool takes to erase data depends on which level you choose; if you are choosing a low level, it will comparatively take less time than if you choose a high level.

Following steps can help you to delete your personal data from iPhone

  1. At first, you need to install the iMyfone Umate Pro on your computer, and then you need to connect your mobile with the computer.
  2. In the second step, you have to choose the mode “Erase all Data”.
  3. When you press the button “Erase”, the program will start analyzing the data on your mobile. Do not disconnect your mobile from the computer at this point.
  4. When the scan is completed, the tool will confirm for the last time that whether you want to erase the data. You have to press the “Delete” button in this step.

Do not hurry because this process may take several minutes. Grab a cup of coffee for you and relax. When the tool finally finishes deleting, all your data will be erased and you cannot recover it even by using recovery software.

In order to work properly, this tool demands that the “Find my iPhone” is disabled on your mobile. You can disable it in the settings menu. If you don’t have enough patience and you think that the tool is taking too much time to erase data, you can move forward certain files to “Erase Deleted Files”, and then only these files will be deleted.

This article is written by Lisa Myers. She works at Coupon Goo as a software engineer.

LEAVE A REPLY